Good news, everyone!
Remember that silly rule change that said a player must successfully transfer the ball from the glove in order for it to count as a catch? It cost the Indians runs against the San Diego Padres when Elliot Johnson made a great catch against the right field wall, only to have it ruled a double when he dropped the ball in the transfer. Here’s the video if you’ve all scrubbed it from your mind.
That’s a catch, folks.
Well, as of today, it actually is (again). The transfer rule, which was changed to say that plays like the Johnson catch aren’t actually catches… has been changed again.
Major League Baseball announced today that effective tonight, a player is not required to successfully transfer the ball in order to record one out. This was the old interpretation of the rule, and the interpretation nearly everyone with working eyes agrees should be in place.
We can all put our pitchforks down. No word yet on whether or not Rangers manager Ron Washington will receive a rebate on the fine he was levied for arguing the umpire’s ruling on a catch/non-catch earlier this month. If I were Ron, though, I wouldn’t hold my breath.
EDIT: As Josh pointed out, it was Elliot Johnson, not David Murphy. I forget Johnson is around sometimes.